Education in England is compulsory for children aged 5 to 16 y.o. covering the primary and secondary education, from Y1 to Y11.

Primary education is covered from Y1 to Y6,  and secondary education is covered from Y7 to Y11. In the last two years of secondary education, they prepare for GCSE exams (General Certificate of Secondary Education). That’s why, Y10 + Y11 are also known as GCSE programme.

After GCSE, students may continue their studies with A-Level programme (Y12 + Y13). Those who would like to study more than 3-4 subjects, may continue their studies with International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, offered by some independent schools.

The main entry points, if you would like to continue your studies in a British school, are Y7, Y9 and Y12. Admission on Y8, Y10 and Y11 depends on each school’s admission policy.

British education system


YEAR 12 ENTRY, 16+
YEAR 11 ENTRY, 15+
Y10 ENTRY, 14+
Y9 ENTRY, 13+
Y8 ENTRY, 12+
Y7 ENTRY, 11+
The British system is offered by our partner schools in:
British partner schools also offer: